Subscribed unsubscribe Subscribe Subscribe

Change the privacy settings for your blog

When you first create a blog you can choose a privacy setting to control who is able to access and read your blog.

You can make more adjustments to who can or cannot view your blog by accessing the Privacy Settings page.

You can choose from the following three privacy settings for your blog:

  1. Public: Anyone on the internet can read your blog.
  2. Private: No one can read your blog but you.
  3. Custom: Create or specify a custom privacy setting.

Public

If you set your blog to "Public", it can be accessed by anyone on the internet.
Please be aware that if your blog was previously set to a different privacy setting such as "Custom" or "Private", and you then choose to change it to "Public", all of your previous entries will become viewable by anyone on the internet.

Private

If you set your blog to the "Private" setting it can only be accessed by you. After you apply this setting, all of your previous entries will also be hidden and will only be viewable by you.

Create a custom privacy setting

Choose "Custom" from the privacy settings selection area to create your own custom privacy setting.

Click on "Edit this privacy setting" to customize the settings. The default setting here is "Show friends".

Show friends

Friends that you have made on other Hatena online services, such as Hatena Coco will be the only people who can access your blog. You can see who is on your friends list on Hatena by accessing your Hatena Coco Friends List page. Please note that most of the functions of Hatena Coco are only available in Japanese.

Create a new privacy setting

To create a new privacy setting, select "New Privacy Setting" from the pull-down menu, and the click on "Create a new privacy setting"。

When you create or edit privacy settings, you will be directed to a page where you can manage privacy settings that can be used on all of Hatena's online services. You can create new privacy settings here, modify privacy settings, or give privacy settings names for your own reference.

Types of Privacy Settings you can use

Show friends/Friends of friends

You can choose to limit access to your blog to only your friends on Hatena Coco, or allow friends of those friends to access your blog too.

Allow friends on other online services such as Facebook, mixi, etc., to access your blog

You can also allow friends from other online services such as your Windows Live Contacts (People), Facebook Friends, mixi Friends, People you follow on Twitter, or Twitter Followers to be able access to your blog entries.

In order to enable these functions for external services you will need to link these services with your Hatena account. Access your External Application Authentication page to link other services with your Hatena ID. Please note that people on other services you allow to access your blog must also have their external accounts (such as Facebook/mixi/Twitter accounts) linked to their Hatena ID in order to access your blog.

Alllow specific users access to your blog

You can also grant access to your blog to specific users who you have connections with on other Hatena online services (such as Hatena Groups).

Block specific users from accessing your blog

If you want to block someone from accessing your blog, you can choose to block them from your list of users who you have connections with on other Hatena online services (such as Hatena Groups).

Require users to answer a question to access your blog (Question Authentication)

You can have a question displayed that needs to be answered for users to access your blog. Only people who can answer the question correctly will be able to read your blog with this setting.

Question Authentication can be used together with other privacy settings to allow certain users to not have to answer the question in order to view your blog.

Display an access rejected message to users

If you have applied a "Custom" or "Private" privacy setting to your blog, you can choose a message to display to users who do not have permission to access your blog. Enter the message you wish to be displayed in the "Rejection message" section.